Updated Ferry Schedules; Re-Entry Process

Updated 1 year ago Press Release
Updated Ferry Schedules; Re-Entry Process

Update on Ocracoke Re-entry Procedures

Please read this entire release before attempting to access Ocracoke Island, NC. 

Given the extensive damage to infrastructure in Ocracoke, the County of Hyde is requesting the continued enforcement of entry/re-entry restrictions and priorities at all ferry terminals delivering passengers to Ocracoke. Therefore, Ocracoke entry/re-entry will be restricted to the following priorities:

  • County/State Requested Resources
  • Emergency Personnel
  • Medical/Clinic
  • National Park Service
  • County Employees
  • Code Enforcement Officers/Inspectors
  • Department of Transportation
  • Power Company
  • Debris Removal
  • Sanitation
  • Mail and Parcel
  • Insurance Adjusters
  • Contractors
  • Distributors/Suppliers/Vendors
  • Volunteers
  • Residents
  • Non-resident Property Owners
  • Local Business Owners and Employees
  • School Employees/Staff
  All contractors, insurance adjusters, and state missions will be validated by Hyde County and a list will be provided to NCDOT Ferry Division on a continual basis. Contractors and insurance adjusters should email validation@hydecountync.gov with their credential/license and client list to be validated by our permits office. The permits office will be available to verify credentials from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Friday. Since the new reservation system is being implemented on the weekend, credentials will be validated by email through this weekend. Going forward, contractors and adjusters attempting to access the island on a weekend must have their credentials and client list validated by 5:00 pm on Fridays. If the required information is not validated before arriving at the terminal, then boarding will not be granted.
  Individuals seeking entry/re-entry must have the appropriate Hyde County issued re-entry tag or a valid North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) Ferry Division issued priority pass. Expired re-entry tags will be honored as an acceptable means of establishing priority for this event. The Hyde County re-entry tag colors are as follows:   1. Emergency Personnel (Red) 2. Infrastructure (Yellow) 3. Resident (Green) 4. Non-Resident Property Owner (White)   If a commuter fails to produce the aforementioned credentials, they will be required to show evidence of residency or property ownership.   The restrictions and priorities will be effective until new instructions are issued or the access limitations are terminated by the County of Hyde. As such, law enforcement officers will enforce the restrictions and priorities on all ferry routes delivering passengers to Ocracoke until further notice. The current ferry schedule is as follows, please also check the latest schedule posted by the Ferry Division
  •  Hatteras to Ocracoke-Silver Lake: 6, 7:30, 9, and 10:30 a.m., 12, 1:30, 3, and 4:30 p.m
  •  Ocracoke-Silver Lake to Hatteras: 9 and 10:30 a.m., 12, 1:30, 3, 4:30, 6, and 7:30 p.

Only high-clearance vehicles will be allowed on the Hatteras-Silver Lake route.

In addition, the Ferry Division’s Pamlico Sound routes will continue to operate on the following schedule:

  • Swan Quarter to Ocracoke: 7 a.m., 9 a.m., 11 a.m., 1 p.m., 3 p.m., and 5 p.m. 
  • Ocracoke to Swan Quarter: 10 a.m., 12 p.m., 2 p.m., 4 p.m., 6 p.m., and 8 p.m.
  • Cedar Island to Ocracoke: 8 a.m. and 2 p.m.
  • Ocracoke to Cedar Island:  11 a.m. and 5 p.m


All fuel deliveries to Ocracoke should use the 9 a.m. Swan Quarter to Ocracoke departure.

Comments powered by Disqus